Day 24

A few days back I realized that some plants are getting too big and start to cover others.

So yesterday I went to the store and bought a 20L bucket. Today I got a new air stone, new PH up, since my last one stopped working somehow (added about 6ml to 5L water to get it up by 1,5 steps) and some air tubing.

I also realized that it’s pointless to order hydroponics pots from Ebay / Amazon since my wife and mother in law buy salad and stuff from store and they already come in those pots – so I decided to save the nature and re use those pots.

Something more – my friend’s wife turns out to be a hardcore plant grower with years of knowledge and I managed to play ‘telephone’ through my friend and get some answers to questions I’ve had for at least 20 days.
Those questions made me to build a DIY EC/PPM meter… got the idea and source from here: https://hackaday.io/project/7008-fly-wars-a-hackers-solution-to-world-hunger/log/24646-three-dollar-ec-ppm-meter-arduino

By the way – if you want to grow your own herbs and don’t want it all to get messy then buy everything from here: https://www.natufia.com/ Awesome looking and highly recommended, since it’s built by people who know what they are doing.

Since the code looked off, I modified it a bit, will post my own tutorial / version about this soon (problems you will have as a senior software engineer).
I’m also thinking about switching out my standalone timers to Raspberry pi.

So the idea would be to run a web server on Pi, with camera that makes timelapse and provides live feed when I’m not home and also control light and air pump power – prolly nginx server with flask and uwsgi … more about this in a separate blog post.

At the moment my lights are turned on from 7:30 am to 23:30 pm and air pump runs for half an hour after every hour. I’m not really concerned about air, because there is about 3 cm of room between the base of my pot and water – meaning that if the plants need oxygen, they can get if from air as well.

So, dear people who like my posts and start following me after every blog entry, I need your help – which one of those three lights should I use?

_DSC9086

From left:
1) 10W red and white grow lamp
2) Nelson Garden LED 15W 60cm (all white)
3) Unknown all red LED from Ebay

They all seem to be good, but which one is the best?

More updates:
I also have some mini tomato, mini cucumber and mini strawberry seeds going.
Will update when they start to show.
I also decided not to order expensive Rockwool cubes, but use cheap sponge instead. At the moment it seems like the seeds are happy there. Hopefully I’ll get some new plants soon.

Enough of talk, here are some awesome looking pictures:

Leave a comment