My Dear fellow bloggers, photographers (rookies to pro), readers and followers.

This is another “Gear” and “Stupid things (in my opinion)” category post.
This time I’m going to talk about lens hoods aka lens shades.

First off the theory quoted from wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lens_hood):
“In photography, a lens hood or lens shade is a device used on the end of a lens to block the sun or other light source in order to prevent glare and lens flare.”
“Flare occurs when stray light strikes the front element of a lens and then bounces around within the lens. This stray light often comes from very bright light sources, such as the sun, bright studio lights, or a bright white background.”

Seems like a quite handy thing, right?
First off I’d like to say that 80% of pictures I’ve taken are without the lens hood.
Here is a sample from few posts back where I talked about condoms. On the left image I used the hood, on the right image the hood was off:
glare 1 w hood glare 1 wo hood
Can you see the difference? I sure don’t – the flare and glare are the same on both images. Even the histograms say they are 99% mach. If you scroll down to the “sex talk” post you can see that the glare is gone – how did I do that?
No – I didn’t put on even longer and larger hood. I moved my camera like a 1/2″ and it was fixed.

Now I have a question to you all!
What does this picture remind you?
circumcised

To me it’s a circumcised penis, but just not that useful.
Why do people put their hoods on backwards if they don’t use them?
It might be the most impractical thing ever. How do you zoom? Even the focus ring isn’t that accessible any more. I’m used to use my left hands two fingers: one for focus, the other for zoom. Since the zoom ring is now blocked your hand won’t feel the same. Disturbing.
If you want to use your lens hood on your lens, then in my eyes this is the only option:
good

Now if you look at some press conference or celebrity shots – how many lens hoods can you see?
Seems like pro’s don’t use them at all. (For me a pro is a person who earns his / her living by taking and selling their pictures OR someone whose photos I really like 🙂 )

My lenses look most of the time like this:
betterMotto: “If you don’t use it, leave it at home.”
I heard it actually from a youtube show, but as the Terms of Agreement on their homepage doesn’t allow to use their company’s or show’s name without permission, I cant mention it here and advertise them. I can say that much: it starts with D and ends with TV and they are based in China.

Now. To conclude I’ll show you the “studio” setup, where I took these photos (with and without hoods + ridiculous reverse hood):
DIY cheap white studio background

I might do a DIY post on “DIY cheap ‘studio-looking’ setups”.
Let me know what would YOU like to read about or what do you think of my posts.
If you have any heart at all, click FOLLOW button and leave a comment.

Thanks! Bu-bye!

Leave a Reply

